Call for Papers ICCBR 2018

Call for Papers: 26th International Conference on Case-Based Reasoning (ICCBR 2018), Paper Submission: April 27, 2018

The Organizers and Program Committee invites submissions of original theoretical research, applied research and deployed application papers on all aspects of Case-Based Reasoning (CBR). ICCBR is the premier, annual meeting of the CBR community and the leading international conference on this topic. The CBR community welcomes experts from related fields and from industry. In particular this year, we seek research related to the intersection of CBR and analogical reasoning, and we have established a special track of the main conference for this purpose. The conference theme for 2018 is The Future of CBR.


Title and Abstract Submission: April 23, 2018
Paper Submission: April 20, 2018 – Deadline extended to April 27, 2018
Notification: May 21, 2018
Camera Ready Copy: June 15, 2018
Conference Dates: July 10-12, 2018

EasyChair Submission Page:

The areas of interest covered by ICCBR 2018 include, but are not limited to the following.

Foundations of Case-Based Reasoning

  • Similarity measures, case retrieval and indexing
  • Case reuse, adaptation and combination
  • Maintenance, post-mortem analysis and quality assessment
  • Case elicitation, case authoring, knowledge modeling and visualization
  • Uncertainty, simulation and prediction
  • Context models, explanations, preferences
  • Knowledge and experience management

CBR Systems for Task Categories such as

  • Process-oriented CBR, workflow management
  • Case-based planning, case-based design
  • CBR for traces, time-series, and temporal CBR
  • Textual CBR
  • Social CBR

Computational Analogy (Special Track)

  • General analogical reasoning techniques
  • Analogical retrieval
  • Analogical generalization
  • Applications of Computational Analogy
  • Frontiers in Computational Analogy

Reasoning with Cases and Related Fields

  • Cognitive models and creative reasoning
  • Agent-oriented CBR, robotics
  • CBR as a cognitive model
  • Goal reasoning
  • Explainable AI (XAI)
  • Cloud-based CBR
  • Web-based CBR, recommender systems
  • Natural language processing, information retrieval
  • Data mining, machine learning and big data
  • CBR systems, applications and lessons learned in specific domains.

In conjunction with the main track, the conference will have a Special Track on Computational Analogy (see the special track call for papers for further details). Besides the main track, ICCBR 2018 will also feature a Doctoral Consortium and a workshop program, which provide an informal setting for addressing specific focus topics in an atmosphere that fosters the active exchange of ideas.

Proceedings and Submission Procedure:

All accepted papers will be included in the conference proceedings published by Springer Verlag in the Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence series. Papers will be considered for poster and oral presentation based on the reviews. Authors must submit a full paper by the conference paper submission deadline. Papers (submitted and final) will be no longer than 16 pages (i.e. max 14 pages without the reference section but including figures, tables and appendice and max 2 pages for the reference section).

ICCBR 2018 is employing the EasyChair conference management system, and submissions must be made via the ICCBR 2018 EasyChair Conference. Interested authors must format their papers according to the Springer LNCS formatting guidelines, as Authors of accepted papers are required to transfer their copyrights to Springer via email to program chairs. All submissions are required to be in electronic format.

EasyChair Submission Page:

Multiple Submission Policy:

Papers submitted to other conferences must state this fact. If a paper will appear in another conference or journal, it must be withdrawn from ICCBR 2018. This restriction does not apply to papers submitted to specialized workshops without archival proceedings.

Author Registration Policy:

In order for a paper to appear in the proceedings, at least one of the authors must register for the conference by the camera-ready copy deadline.

Program Co-Chairs:

Michael T. Cox (Wright State University, USA)
Peter Funk (Mälardalen University, Sweden)
Shahina Begum (Mälardalen University, Sweden)